An extensive, searchable collection of academic videos ranging many disciplines. A good general reference starting point for research. Topics include: anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music among others. Formats include documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels.
AccessSurgery provides textbooks, videos, journal reviews and other materials that relate to surgery and surgical education.
Please update all bookmarks to ensure seamless access into textbooks. AccessSurgery works best in either the FireFox or Chrome browser.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy uses unembalmed human specimens to illustrate anatomical structures. Object rotation of the structures allows for a 3D view that one would normally only see in a cadaver lab.
Acland's works best in either the FireFox or Internet Explorer (IE) browsers. Technical problems have been reported when using Safari.
A searchable collection of documentaries from PBS, WGBH Boston, and The History Channel, as well as newsreel films and footage from the National Archives. Users can select videos by themes such as the American Revolution, the Great Depression, the Space Race, and others. All films include full-text transcripts.
A streaming video collection of documentaries and interviews addressing art theory, history, and practice. Content spans the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary art. Also provides videos on applied disciplines such as architecture and graphic design.
Provides access to streaming video of film adaptations of 37 of William Shakespeare’s plays produced by the BBC.
Contains streaming video of performances by leading orchestras, chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with master classes and interviews with teachers from around the world. Approximately 1,500 available performances totaling 1,000 hours available. Includes musical historical figures.
A collection of videos for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychitric counseling. Videos range from counseling sessions, demonstrations and consultations to lectures, presentations, and interviews. A searchable transcript is included with each video.
A collection of dance performances, documentaries, instructional videos and interviews available through online streaming videos. Sekections include ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental and improvisational dance.
Digital Theatre Plus is a collection HD captured performance from production houses worldwide, created for educational audiences. Behind-the-scenes documentaries, and written teaching and learning resources are included to enhance understanding of productions and texts.
Provides digital versions of primary source materials from cultural heritage institutions around North Carolina Presented by the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center. Materials are freely available for students, teachers, scholars, and anyone interested in the history and culture of North Carolina.
Provides monologues, ensemble and one-person plays, comedies, tragedies, historical as well as contemporary content. New content is added regularly.
Provides resources for teachers to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms. Includes video of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Raw field footage, crafted ethnographies and documentaries in the Anthropology discipline.
Film Platform serves as a bridge between academia and documentary film, bringing students and professors some of the most relevant and highly regarded films from the festival circuit. The collection is curated by film experts and academics to showcase critically-acclaimed documentaries of social, political and cultural importance, and the catalog is continually growing.
Provides thousands of high quality streaming videos, including BB documentaries, Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award winning documentaries and interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels, travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Topics include: business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics.
Health and Society in Video is an online collection of streaming documentaries focusing on health issues and their impact on society.
Contains over 2,500 specially prepared, animated, online, audio-visual lectures by world leading authorities. Talks cover Agriculture & Environmental Sciences; Biochemistry; Cancer; Cell Biology; Clinical Medicine; Diseases, Disorders & Treatments; Genetics & Epigenetics; Immunology; Metabolism & Nutrition; Methods; Microbiology; Neuroscience; Omics & Systems Biology; Pharmaceutical Sciences; Reproduction & Development.
Provides access to the ICE (International Clinical Educators) Library of over 185 short video clips illustrating a wide range of diagnoses and treatment settings.
Contains science videos in the areas of biology, chemistry, and clinical skills and is provided alongside ECU’s subscribed JoVE video journals.
Streaming service which delivers films from thousands of leading producers such as Universal Paramount, The Great Courses, New Day Films, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, etc. Movies, videos, and documentaries cover all genres. Topics include: the arts, business, education, global studies and languages, health, media and communications, sciences, social sciences and various instructional videos. Captioning and transcripts available.
A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. Contains award-winning documentaries, archival footage, and select feature films. Topics include: LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, and other topics.
An expanding collection of Metropolitan Opera performances in streaming video. Currently includes more than 100 operas with supporting synopses. English and other language subtitles available.
These are peer-reviewed educational videos that capitalize on the ability of moving images to teach procedures requiring skilled techniques and specialized physical examination. This first series of teaching videos is intended to help students, trainees, and younger physicians to learn procedural techniques from experienced colleagues.
These evidence-based, faculty-reviewed, non-industry-sponsored teaching resources are targeted for nephrology providers and patients. These videos are developed and maintained by the faculty of the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension at East Carolina University's Brody School of Medicine.
Nurse Theorists: Portraits of Excellence explores the life work and life stories of sixteen innovative women who are widely regarded as nursing's premiere scholars.Each program featuring a modern theorist includes video interviews in which the theorist discusses her life, the evolution of her work, and the impact of that work on nursing practice and education. These programs also contain a bibliography of the theorist's writings and a resource list highlighting helpful websites and organizations.
Requires QuickTime and Flash plugin.
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.
Provides full-length, HD-quality contemporary performance films available for streaming, download or mobile viewing, presenting a snapshot of the best new works by current leaders in dance, theater and music.
Contains opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
Video documentaries and series from PBS. Subjects range from science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.
Provides access to streaming training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, and addiction. Most videos show leading practitioners conducting therapy and demonstrating clinical skills, along with pre- and post-discussions.
An online collection of streaming video focused on the physical treatment of patients with congenital disorders, chronic health issues, and traumatic injuries. Videos include footage of occupational, physical, and speech therapists working with actual patients as well as models and illustrations.
High-definition, surround-sound recordings of William Shakespeare’s plays featuring the world’s best Shakespearean actors, like David Tennant, Sir Antony Sher, Paapa Essiedu, and Simon Russell Beale, and directors like Robin Lough and Dewi Humphrey. The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection brings The Tempest, King Lear, Hamlet and other famous performances filmed at the Royal Shakespeare Company’s Stratford-upon-Avon theater to classrooms around the world.
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video is a large collection of streaming videos covering the topics of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and more.
Streaming service that licenses public performances and movies to numerous non-theatrical markets, including U.S. colleges and universities. Contains over 25,000 films, documentaries and TV shows.
This resource is not formatted to play on mobile devices and is not currently supported on Internet Explorer or Chrome.
A collection of plays, musicals, and documentaries in streaming video emphasizing English language theatre from the Elizabethan period through the 20th century. Includes interviews with actors, directors, writers, and designers.
A collection of plays, musicals, and documentaries in streaming video emphasizing contemporary and international productions. Includes interviews with actors, directors, writers, and designers.
Provides access to many streaming videos and other content created for PBS. Users can create a free PBS account to log in and access.