Explore our Database List



All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Databases > M
M
MackinVIA

MackinVia provides easy access to children’s eBooks for students from preschool through grade 12.  Many of the eBooks are interactive, and the collection includes fiction and nonfiction books, the classics, award-winning titles, and more.

Mafia In Florida And Cuba: FBI Surveillance Of Meyer Lansky And  Santo Trafficante

This collection, spanning 1946-1977, comprises materials on Santo Trafficante, Jr., Meyer Lansky, and Lucky Luciano, including FBI surveillance and informant reports and correspondence from a variety of offices including, Miami, Tampa, Jacksonville, New York City, New Orleans, Atlanta, New Haven, New York City, Philadelphia, and Chicago; Justice Department memoranda, correspondence, and analyses; Newsclippings and articles; Domestic Intelligence Section reports; Transcriptions of wiretaps, typewriter tapes, and coded messages; Memoranda of conversations.

Making of the Modern World, Parts I, II and III

Making of the Modern World, Parts I and II: Documents the dynamics of Western trade and wealth that shaped the world from the last half of the 15th century to the early 20th century.  Part I, 1450-1850,  Part II 1851-1914, Part III, 1890-1945.

Mango Languages

Language learning lessons with reading/writing/listening components. Use real-life situations and conversations to teach a new language. Emphasis is not solely on grammar, vocabulary, and conjugation,  but on teaching users to communicate. First time users must create an account within Mango.

MarketLine Advantage

Analysis covering companies, industries and countries. For some companies there is a SWOT analysis. Five Forces also appears for some, but not all. Each profile contains: Overview & Size, Segmentation, Competitive Landscape, Leading Companies, and Forecasts.

MasterFILE Complete

Multidisciplinary database designed for public libraries.

MasterFILE Premier

A database of full-text magazines, journals, and reference books, as well as photo, map, and flag files dating back to 1917. Titles include popular magazines like Consumer Reports, Car and Driver, Country Living, Elle, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Harper’s Bazaar, and Popular Mechanics alongside an expansive list of scholarly and trade publications.

MathSciNet

Provides access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, since 1940.

MedEdPORTAL

Hundreds of faculty-developed, peer reviewed resources to support medical education. From the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Free registration required.

Medical Heritage Library

The Medical Heritage Library (MHL), a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries, promotes free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine.

Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics

This resource includes both the Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics and the Treatment Guidelines from the Medical Letter. Users are able to access articles from either publication and CME/CE opportunities from Medical Letter.

Medical Mnemonics

A free, non-profit, searchable database of memory aids to help students memorize anatomical, biochemical and clinical concepts.

Medical Services and Warfare

From the beginning of the Crimean War to the discovery of penicillin, Medical Services and Warfare gathers material from multiple conflicts and institutions to build a picture of the experience and development of medical practice as influenced by the wars of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries

Medicine and Madison Avenue

This collection from Duke University Libraries explores the complex relationships between modern medicine and modern advertising, or "Madison Avenue," as the latter is colloquially termed. It presents images and information for approximately 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines. These ads illustrate the variety and evolution of marketing images from the 1910s through the 1950s.

Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online

From Cornell University, MEMSO is a full text online collection of the core primary sources for the study of medieval and early modern history and literature of the British Isles. Includes such classic series of sources as the Patent Rolls and the Calendar of State.

MEDLINE via Ovid

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Tip: There are several versions of Ovid's Medline to choose from which vary by date. Many find it useful to select the first or second version and then limit dates for their searches.

MEDLINE via PubMed

This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

If you are a non-ECU user, go to http://www.pubmed.gov for this resource.

MedlinePlus

This consumer health website includes a medical dictionary, medical encyclopedia, directories, Spanish language materials, tutorials and videos, all targeted for use by the general public.  This reliable information is compiled by the National Library of Medicine.

JSTOR's agreements with publishers include an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall," a fixed period of time from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) and Tests in Print (TIP) provide users with a comprehensive guides to contemporary testing instruments and all known commercially available tests currently in print in the English language. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership and allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. TIP serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests and provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date, and authors. Both MMY and TIP are produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska.

Access is limited to 1 user at a time.

Mergent Archives

Mergent / Moody's manuals Includes the following manuals: Archives - Historical data (prior to 1996) for companies no longer in existence, Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, OTC Industrial, OTC Unlisted, Public Utility, Transportation.

Access is limited to 10 users at a time.

Mergent Online

Financial information on publicly-held companies in the US, drawn from their annual reports and the 10-K and 10-Q filings the companies must make with the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC). Some financial data goes back as far as 1990. Useful for determining financial ratios for companies and industries.

Access is limited to 10 users at a time.

Micromedex

Search for summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, disease, alternative medicine, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and emergency care

Access is limited to ECU Division of Health Sciences on-campus use only. Problems with Micromedex web or mobile access? Call the Vidant Health Help Desk at 847-5111. For mobile access to Micromedex apps, obtain passwords by clicking here.

Mobile Resources Overview

Middle East and North Africa: Global Perspectives, 1957-1995

This is a fully searchable digital archive that spans 19 countries and four decades. It includes translated journals, newspapers, scientific reports, radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in North Africa and the Middle East covering cultural, economic and political developments within the regions over a span of four decades.

Military Database

Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

Mini Page Archive

The Mini Page is a four-page weekly newspaper feature directed to kids but of interest to readers of all ages. The feature has won many awards for excellence in educational journalism and has appeared in as many as 500 newspapers. This digital archive provides online access to issues published from August 1969 to May 2007, the period during which founder Betty Debnam was editor.

MLA Directory of Periodicals

Produced by the Modern Language Association as the basis of the MLA International Bibliography. Lists periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography.

MLA International Bibliography

Indexes and abstracts articles on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.  Years of Coverage: 1963 - Current

Click here for a guide to this database

Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976

The Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976 is the comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government. Established by the Printing Act of January 12, 1895. It is issued each month by the Superintendent of Documents for the Government Printing Office.

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Investment research allowing users to search for information on stocks and mutual funds.

Music Index

Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry from periodicals; includes book reviews, obituaries, news.

Music Online

Classical, jazz, and world audio recordings; opera, dance, and classical music videos; and classical scores, both public-domain and in-copyright, including selections from Boosey and Hawkes and the University Music Editions Microfilm series. Contains all content of Classical Music Library, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, Classical Scores Library, Classical Music in Video, Opera in Video, and Dance in Video databases

Music Periodicals Database (formerly IIMP)

About International Index to Music Periodicals: Articles in a broad range of music subject areas from both scholarly and popular music periodicals Years of Coverage: 1874 to present, most from 1996 onwards

Music-in-Print Series Online (e-Music Quest)

Find citations for music in print in the areas of sacred choral, secular choral, classical vocal, organ, orchestral, string, classical guitar, woodwinds, piano, band, brass, percussion, recorder, handbells, chamber, popular, jazz. Years of Coverage: 1975 - Current

Musical Theater Songs

MusicalTheaterSongs.com draws from 150 years of musical theater repertoire, ranging from well-known standards to rare pieces. The interface allows up to 20-plus parameters (voice type, character age, range, ease for accompanist, descriptive characteristics, etc.) to generate a tailored list of songs from the database. It also provides links to various sites to make it simple to buy, rent, trade or download  sheet music and recordings.