Explore our Database List



All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Databases > A
A
ABC-CLIO E-books

Provides primary source material, collateral readings, and commentary that helps students understand the historical, social, and cultural milieu associated with 20 major literary works. Timelines, study questions, teacher resources, and glossaries are contained in the sourcebook for each work. Formerly called Literature in Context.

ABI/INFORM

In-depth coverage of business and management publications. Includes journals, dissertations, working papers, key business newspapers, trade publications, country-and industry-focused reports and data. Topics covered include business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information.

Click here for a guide to this database

Access World News

A collection of U.S. and global news sources historical and current.

AccessAnesthesiology

AccessAnesthesiology offers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content – optimized for viewing on any device. The database includes instant access to procedural videos, self-assessment, and leading anesthesiology textbooks that establish a solid foundation for learning.

AccessAnesthesiology works best in either the FireFox or Chrome browser.

AccessEngineering

AccessEngineering, formerly the McGraw-Hill Digital Engineering Library, draws from standard engineering reference works in the areas of biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, petroleum, environmental, industrial, mechanical, operations management, and software engineering. Includes Schaum’s Outlines.

Access is limited to 1 user at a time.

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine provides students, residents, clinicians, and researchers with instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted sources to keep pace with the changing practice of medicine.

Please update all bookmarks to ensure seamless access into textbooks. AccessMedicine works best in either the FireFox or Chrome browser.

AccessSurgery

AccessSurgery provides textbooks, videos, journal reviews and other materials that relate to surgery and surgical education.

Please update all bookmarks to ensure seamless access into textbooks. AccessSurgery works best in either the FireFox or Chrome browser.

Accounting & Tax (ProQuest)

Journal articles, reference reports, proceedings, and dissertations covering current news and topics as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues.

Click here for a guide to this database

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy uses unembalmed human specimens to illustrate anatomical structures. Object rotation of the structures allows for a 3D view that one would normally only see in a cadaver lab.

Acland's works best in either the FireFox or Internet Explorer (IE) browsers. Technical problems have been reported when using Safari.

ACLS Humanities E-book

ACLS Humanities E-Books is a digital collection of high-quality humanities titles offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with a variety of learned societies, and contributing publishers. Years of Coverage: Mid-1800’s - present

ACLU American Civil Liberties Union Papers 1912-1995

American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990 is a collection of papers which spans the majority of the twentieth century, from 1912 to 1990. It has its focus on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court. The archive complements modules in the Making of Modern Law series including Legal Treatises, 1800-1926; U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978; Primary Sources, 1763-1970; as well as the archives U.S. Declassified Documents Online and Associated Press Collections Online.

ACM Digital Library

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library includes ACM journals, papers, magazines, and conference proceedings. Also includes publications of affiliated organizations. Full-text is available for most articles, but not yet for all ACM proceedings published before 1991.

ACP Journal Club (EBM Reviews via Ovid)

ACP Journal Club includes the complete text of ACP Journal Club (1991-date) and BMJ's Evidence Based Medicine (1995-1999), which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals.

African American Studies Center

African American Studies Center, from Oxford University Press, is edited by Henry Louis Gates. Includes articles, images, primary sources, maps, charts and tables.

Access is limited to 1 user at a time.

African Women's Bibliographic Database

African Women’s Bibliographic Database contains citations to items published in English about African women.  Includes books, government documents, journal articles, theses and dissertations, selected honors papers, conference papers.

Africana Periodical Literature

Africana Periodical Literature indexes English language and multi-lingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or that consistently cover the African continent. The titles indexed in this database represent Africana materials from North America, Europe, Africa, and Asia.   Years of Coverage: Mid-19th century - present.

Age of Exploration

Explore five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discovery, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and the race to map and conquer new dominions. This expansive multi-archive collection focuses on maritime exploration from the earliest voyages of Vasco da Gama and Christopher Columbus; through the age of discovery and the search for the ‘new world’; the establishment of European settlements and empires on every continent; to the eventual discovery of the Northwest and Northeast Passages, and the race for the Poles. Age of Exploration contains a variety of primary sources, including richly visual materials that will engage and fascinate students and researchers of global history. Diaries, journals, logbooks, manuscripts, rare books, correspondence, scientific and government documents, maps and charts, objects and early film footage give access to the changing shape of exploration throughout the ages.

AGRICOLA

Agricola is the National Agricultural Library’s catalog. Worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest)

The collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). Includes the databases Aqualine, Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality, Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B), Biotechnology Research Abstracts, COS Conference Papers Index, Ecology Abstracts, Environment Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Impact Statements, Health & Safety Science Abstracts, Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology B), Pollution Abstracts, Risk Abstracts, Sustainability Service Abstracts, Toxicology Abstracts, TOXLINE, and Water Resources Abstracts.

Click here for a guide to this database

AGRIS

AGRIS is a bibliographic database from the United Nations Food & Agriculture Organization (FAO).  Covers agricultural sciences and technology, also including fisheries, forestry, economics, nutrition.  

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals contains citations to articles in English language military journals.

Alt HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch focuses on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.  Includes journals, reports, pamphlets, booklets, book excerpts.

America's News - Historical and Current

America's News, from NewsBank, is arranged by state and region. Excludes advertisements. Letters to the editor and editorials are included. Obituaries selectively included.

America: History and Life

America: History and Life offers bibliographic citations to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Years of Coverage: 1964 – present

Access is limited to 6 users at a time.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5

American Antiquarian Society (AAS)  Historical Periodicals Collection Series 1 (1691-1820); Series 2 (1821-1837);Series 3 (1838-1852);Series 4 (1853-1865);Series 5 (1866-1877)

American Civil War Research Database

American Civil War Research Database contains rosters published by the state Adjutants Generals, the Official Records, pension index records, 1860 census records, Grand Army of the Republic (GAR) records, Roll of Honor records, Medal of Honor records, and regimental histories. Information has been compiled from personal items, graveyards, and newspaper reports. Contains photographs.

American Film Institute Catalog

Comprehensive information on all American films, 1893 to 1970 with plot summaries, production history, and cast information.

American History in Video

American History in Video contains documentaries from PBS, WGBH Boston, The History Channel, newsreel films, and footage from the National Archives. All films include full-text transcripts.

American History, 1493-1945

This  collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History.

American National Biography

American National Biography is from the American Council of Learned Societies and published by Oxford University Press. Biographies of deceased men and women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the nation. Numerous illustrations.

Access is limited to 1 user at a time.

American Periodicals

American Periodicals offers digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals. Includes Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, early American professional journals, and several popular magazines such as Vanity Fair, Harper's, and Ladies' Home Journal. Years of Coverage: 1740-1940

American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996

This is a fully searchable digital archive covering foreign perspectives of American racial issues in the mid-20th century. It provides unique primary source documents on racial justice from around the world, as well as reports, publications, and news broadcasts covering America's fight for racial justice, with firsthand analysis of race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa, and Asia

American State Papers

American State Papers includes the full text of a wide variety of government documents on many topics related to the early years of the American government including foreign relations, Indian affairs, finance, commerce and navigation, military and naval affairs. The American State Papers were the predecessor to the Serial Set, and both can be searched simultaneously using the Archive of Americana.  Years of Coverage: 1789-1839 (1st - 25th Congresses)

Anatomy Atlases

Anatomy Atlases is a digital library of anatomy information from the University of Iowa. Includes cross sectional and microscopic images.

Anatomy.tv (aka Primal Pictures)

anatomy.tv (also known as Primal Pictures) includes anatomical images, MRI scans, dissection slides, movies (including biomechanics animations), and clinical text. The head and neck, spine, hand, shoulder, thorax, pelvis, hip, knee, and foot are explored in a regional approach to anatomical study. The resource includes sports & therapy, dentistry, and surgical modules, and most content is exportable for use in lectures, posters, and other projects.

Année Philologique L'

L'Année Philologique is an index to scholarly work in fields related to the language, literature, history and culture of ancient Greece and Rome. A standard bibliographic tool for research in classical studies.  Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, with the American Philological Association and the Database of Classical Bibliography, and with the support of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France) and the National Endowment for the Humanities (USA). Years of Coverage: 1927- present

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews synthesizes primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in 29 disciplines for a given time period in the biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Editorial committees comprised of distinguished scholars in the discipline select topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.

Anthropological Fieldwork Online

Anthropological Fieldwork Online brings the fieldwork underpinning ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today.

Anthropology Online

Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over, with a specific focus outside of the developed world. Includes cultural, linguistic, applied, visual, urban, medical, and physical anthropology, as well as archaeology.  Years of Coverage: 1800s - present

Anthropology Plus

Anthropology Plus is an international index to the literature of anthropology and archaeology. Brings together Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index. Covers journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.  Includes sources in multiple languages, particularly English, Germanic, Slavic, Romance, and selected Scandinavian languages. Years of Coverage: Late 1800s - present

Anthrosource

Produced by the American Anthropological Association (AAA) in collaboration with the University of California Press.  Years of Coverage: 1888 - present

APA Style Guide to Electronic References

Adapted from the sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, this comprehensive guide offers up-to-date information on formatting electronic references in APA Style. It outlines the key elements to include when referencing electronic sources, with an emphasis on using the digital object identifier (DOI) to locate web-based information reliably. Most important, it provides a wealth of examples for readers to model for everything from online journal articles to supplemental data sets and measurement instruments to books, videos, apps, websites, podcasts, blog posts, and social media.

Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996

This is an international survey of the effects of apartheid on South Africa and the world witha fully searchable digitized collection of primary source documents related to apartheid.It includes translated news broadcasts and publications on the international reaction to apartheid throughout the African continent and from around the world.

APIRS Online

APIRS Online, from the Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants at the University of Florida. Covers freshwater aquatic and wetland plants, as well as terrestrial and aquatic invasive plants.

Applied Science & Technology Full Text

Applied Science & Technology Full Text offers indexing and abstracts for core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983.  Helpful for applied aspects of many disciplines, such as biomedical engineering, engineering, and construction management.

Click here for a guide to this database

Aqualine

This database has comprehensive focus on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources. Major subjects of coverage include water resources and supplies management, water legislation, water quality, potable water distribution, wastewater collection, water treatment technologies, wastewater and sewage treatment and ecological and environmental effects of water pollution.

Aquatic Science Collection (ProQuest)

The collection contains aquatic science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA). Also includes records from Aqualine, Oceanic Abstracts, and Water Resources Abstracts

ARBA Online

American Reference Books Annual (ARBA) features reviews of reference works. Written by librarians for librarians and library science students, ARBA provides content evaluations that cover strengths and weaknesses of each reference resource and in many cases compare reference publications to similar titles. Years of Coverage: 1997 - present

Architectural Digest Magazine Archive

The Architectural Digest Magazine Archive is an extensive archive of the famed international design magazine from its first issue in 1920 through 2011, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Each issue features photography and information on architecture and interior design, art and antiques, travel destinations, and extraordinary products.

Archive Finder

Archive Finder is a current directory which describes collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom, and Ireland.  It combines the content of Archives USA and National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland.   For the U.S., records come from the Library of Congress's National Union Catalogue of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) and the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States.

Archive of Americana

Archive of Americana, by Readex, can search both the American State Papers (1789-1839) and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1894). Users may also search the full text of the Early American Newspapers, Series I, which covers the years 1690-1876.

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid, from OCLC, is a useful tool for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories. Provides access to detailed descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1

Documents in the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 2

Documents in the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.

Archives Unbound

From Gale Publishing. Archives Unbound: The South is comprised of 16 different digital collections, each centered on a particular theme in Southern history. Additional Archives Unbound collections include JFK's Foreign Affairs and International Crises, 1961-1963, Records of the Persian Gulf War, The Civil War in Words and Deeds, The War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas, National Security and the FBI Surveillance of Enemy Aliens, The Amerasia Affair, China and Postwar Anti-Communist Fervor, and Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations.

Art Abstracts

Art Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles, yearbooks, and museum bulletins from periodicals published throughout the world. Subject coverage includes advertising, archaeology, art, art history, architecture, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, photography, art criticism, video, and film. 

Access is limited to 1 user at a time.

Art and Architecture in Video

Art and Architecture in Video includes streaming video which illustrates the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and provides the context necessary for critical analysis. The collection spans period and region, covering the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary art. In addition to art history and theory, the collection addresses applied topics such as architectural and graphic design.

Art Bibliographies Modern (ABM)

Provides abstracts of the current literature of modern art, photography and design, modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry and illustration, as well as painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. The database corresponds to the print Art Bibliographies Modern,  1974 – Present.

ARTFL

ARTFL is the Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language, makes available indexing and fulltext of texts in French written between the 12th and 20th centuries. Includes Diderot and D'Alembert's Encyclopedie. Genres include novels, poetry, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises in a variety of subject areas: literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. Search ARTFL using the FRANTEXT database.

Arts & Humanities (ProQuest)

This database covers humanities broadly:  Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre, and Cultural Studies,  1973 - Present.

ARTstor

A non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Images from art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.   Side-by-side comparison, zooming, and other features expand the teaching functions available through ArtSTOR. Instructors may register for instructor privileges; contact the Joyner Research & Instructional Services Department for details. ECU students must register to manipulate the images for instructional purposes. Pop-up blockers must be disabled to view images.  

arXiv.org (Los Alamos E-Print Archives)

This preprint archive was started at Los Alamos in 1991, originally for the high energy physics community. Contains papers on topics related to physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science.

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts:  Research on marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments. Includes biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, legal, policy and socioeconomic issues, fisheries, aquaculture, oceanography, limnology, resources and commerce, pollution, biotechnology, marine technology and engineering, marine meteorology and climatology, and non-living resources (oil, gas, minerals, chemicals).

Asian & European Business Collection

Business and financial news from the Eastern Hemisphere. Covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications.

ASM Handbooks

ASM Handbooks Online™ provides a comprehensive source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology. Includes articles, illustrations, tables, graphs specifications and practical examples, peer-reviewed information in every area of materials specialization.

ASME Digital Collections

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Collection is ASME’s repository of current and archival literature featuring ASME's Transaction Journals from 1960 to the present, ASME's Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present, and selected ASME Press eBooks from 1993 to the present

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts: Indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Includes the United States and U.K.

ASTM Compass

American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM) International is a voluntary technical standards development organization whose work covers 15 industries, ranging from energy to chemicals to medical devices.  Standards can be downloaded as PDF documents.

ATLA Religion Database

Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA). Provides information on topics such as biblical studies, biblical archaeology,world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Covers the research literature of religion in 35 languages. Years of Coverage: 1949 - present

Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Automate

Reference database with authoritative and up-to-date auto repair and service information on more than 38,000 vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.

Avalon Project

Digitized documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Years of Coverage: 4000 bce – 21st century

Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals

History and practice of architecture and design, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Scholarly and popular periodical literature, publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.  Years of Coverage: 1934 - present, with some indexing as far back as 1741.