Explore our Database List



All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Databases > S
S
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 contains information about North, Central and South America, the Arctic and Antarctica and the West Indies. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more.

SAGE Publications

Journals published by SAGE in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.

SAGE Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods supports beginning and advanced researchers at each step of a project, from developing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing and publishing the findings. The content encompasses the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences as well as many methods of the hard sciences. Access includes cases, videos, datasets, and books.

Sanborn Maps North Carolina

Sanborn Maps for the state of North Carolina provides digital access to large-scale maps of many North Carolina towns and cities searchable by address and GPS coordinates. The maps cover the time period 1867-1970.

ScholarShip

The ScholarShip is a digital archive for the scholarly output of the ECU community. Its mission is to capture, preserve and make available the intellectual output of East Carolina University's faculty, staff, and students.

Science

Founded in 1880 on $10,000 of seed money from the American inventor Thomas Edison, Science has grown to become a leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research. Science continues to publish the very best in scientific research, news, and opinion. Whether you're concerned with AIDS, SARS, genomic medicine, Mars, or global warming, or just want to keep abreast of where the scientific world is and where it's going, you will find something worthwhile in Science.

Science in Context

Science in Context relates science to real world issues, from weather patterns to obesity. Includes content from science-related Gale encyclopedias, videos, podcasts, image galleries, and many full text articles. Aligned to National and State Science standards, including Common Core State Standards, Next Generation Science Standards, and Project 2061.

Science.gov

Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect provides access to the full-text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier. Botany is included.

Click here for a guide to this database

SciFinder

SciFinder Scholar is the online version of Chemical Abstracts (1967-present), CAS Registry (1957-present) and CASREACT. It also includes Medline (1966-present). The database covers the full spectrum of chemical and biomedical subjects, including biochemisty, organic/inorganic chemistry, and applied chemistry, as well as environmental science, food science and toxicology.

Access is limited to user with Pirate ID. First time ECU users of SciFinder must register here Already registered? Always sign in to SciFinder Web using this link: http://jproxy.lib.ecu.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org

Click here for a guide to this database

Scopus

Scopus is one of the world’s largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web resources. Included in the database are approximately 50 million records for resources from over 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Among Scopus’s features are tools to track, analyze, and visualize the impacts of research.

Scopus Document Download feature will not be supported on the current or future versions of Chrome. To keep using the Scopus Document Download Manager, please use Internet Explorer version 10 or higher, Google Chrome up to version 44, or Safari 4 or higher.

ShipIndex.org

ShipIndex.org indicates which books, magazines, and online resources mention specific vessels. Essential database for many areas of maritimes studies.

SIAM Journals Online

Online access to the full-text of journals from the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

SimplyAnalytics

An Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.  SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) is an account driven resource.

New users must create an account. Access is limited to 20 users at a time.

SIRS Discoverer

Designed specifically for elementary and middle school students, SIRS Discoverer offer articles, nonfiction books, images, activities and websites curated for educational relevance, age appropriateness, and readability.

SIRS Knowledge Source

Searches Issue Researcher, Government Reporter, Renaissance, and WebSelect.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery Archives

This database contains and allows cross-searching of Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation Includes 12049 books, 170 serials, 71 manuscript collections, 377 supreme court records and briefs and 194 reference articles from Macmillan, Charles Scribner's Sons and Gale encyclopedias.

SMART Imagebase

The Scientific & Medical ART (SMART) Imagebase is a collection of 20,000+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics. SMART Imagebase users may download images for educational, non-commercial use in lectures, presentations, slide shows, web sites and more. Common types of visual presentations include PowerPoint™ shows, handouts, poster sessions, and interactive Flash animations.

Smithsonian Global Sound

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, provides online recordings of the world's musical and aural traditions.

Social Explorer

Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. An invaluable repository of information, the site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000. Social Explorer offers a high level of functionality and control. Users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations.

Access is limited to 3 users at a time.

Social Services Abstracts

Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Social Work Abstracts

Indexing and abstracts from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, and community organization.

Access is limited to 4 users at a time.

Social Work Online

Social Work Online pairs recently published social work textbooks along with compelling documentaries clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners.

SocINDEX with Full Text

SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Click here for a guide to this database

Sociological Abstracts

Indexing and abstracts for articles from scholarly journals and dissertations in sociology, social policy planning, and social development. Also references books, book chapters, and association papers.

Sociology (ProQuest)

Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.

Something about the Author

Something About the Author Online brings comprehensive online access Gale's award-winning reference set, Something About the Author, the main series, and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series. Contains illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators.

Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War

ECU patrons have access to Plantation Records Parts 1 & 2.This database collects resources pertaining to the development and history of slavery, plantation culture, Reconstruction, and early Jim Crow institutions in the American South. Plantation records are both business records and personal papers because the plantation was both the business and the home for plantation owners.

SPIN Funding Opportunities Database

SPIN, which stands for Sponsored Programs Information Network, is an extensive research funding opportunity database. SPIN contains over 40,000 opportunities from more than 10,000 sponsors. With SPIN, you can: Access funding information online from any browser, organize grant information in one convenient place, gain access to the largest keyword list, allowing for greater flexibility in your searches, quickly locate Limited Submission Opportunities with Federal or non-Federal programs, and locate all types of funding information—Fed Business Opps / Federal Register Guide.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

Comprehensive, bibliographic and full-text database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health

Access is limited to 4 users at a time.

Click here for a guide to this database

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video is a large collection of streaming videos covering the topics of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and more.

SpringerLink

Provides electronic access to e-journals and e-books published by Springer, a major publisher of scientific, technical and medical journals. Within the database, users can browse by journal or search across all titles.

St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-2003)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Full Text Included.

Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage

Provides access to research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook, among others.

Standard Rate & Data Service (SRDS)

SRDS is the leading provider of media rates (ad prices) and related data for advertisers. It lists advertising rates, editorial or programming content, circulation and other basic information (e.g. how many years in business and the name of the owner) for a broad range of media selling advertising space, including consumer magazine media, business publication media, local media by DMA, newspaper media, radio media, and TV & cable media. SRDS also contains selected demographic and market information for metropolitan areas and counties.

STAT!Ref

STAT!Ref® is an online healthcare reference that integrates core titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools.

Access is limited to between one (1) and seven (7) users at a time, based on title.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.

Statistical Insight

Built to find and retrieve statistical content, ProQuest Statistical Insight spans more than 600,000 published tables a year on thousands of different topics. It provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.

Stedman's Medical Dictionary--28th Edition, 2006

Stedman's is a highly-trusted medical dictionary.

Sustainability Science Abstracts

This database explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Expanded and merged with the Human Population and Natural Resource Management subfile.

Swank

Swank Motion Pictures, founded in 1937, licenses both public performances and movies to numerous non-theatrical markets, including U.S. colleges and universities.

This resource is not formatted to play on mobile devices and is not currently supported on Internet Explorer.