Explore our Database List



All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Databases > N
N
NAACP Papers (Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle)

The NAACP Papers, included in History Vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle, consists of 6 modules and contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and provides a first-hand view of the civil rights movement.

NARA Access to Archival Databases (AAD)

Provides historic electronic records created by more than 30 agencies of the U.S. federal government and from collections of donated historical materials. The records cover a wide variety of civilian and military functions and have many genealogical, social, political, and economic research uses. Years of Coverage: 1846 - Current

National Center for Health Statistics

As a function of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the National Center for Health Statistics monitors data related to births, deaths, health insurance, diseases, and other vital statistics related to the health of the United States.

National Geographic Magazine Archive

Coverage is from 1888-1994

National Guideline Clearinghouse

The National Guidelines Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

National Library of Energy (Beta)

National Library of Energy is a gateway to science, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments. From the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy. Formerly Science Accelerator.

National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)

The United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)’s electronic database of archival and current documents.

National Transportation Library

From the Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA). Provides information about transportation policy, research, operations, and technology transfer activities. Years of Coverage: 1800s - Current

Naxos Music Library

including Naxos, BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, ARC, and Celestial Harmonies. Create personalized playlists.

Access is limited to 10 users at a time.

NC Health Info

NC Health Info is an online guide to Web sites of quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina. Designed to meet the needs and interests of North Carolinians, NC Health Info leads users to resources that are reliable and easy to understand. Links on NC Health Info are selected and maintained by North Carolina librarians.

NC Live Ebooks

Ebooks via NC Live.

NC Live Homepage

NC LIVE is a consortium of North Carolina libraries, providing digital content and services to public and academic libraries statewide. Includes eBooks, magazines, newspapers, journals, media. ECU students, faculty, staff authenticate using the Pirate ID and password. Other users contact their local public library for NC LIVE access instructions and passwords.

NC Live Resources

Education & Teacher Resources provided by NC Live.

NC Live Streaming Video

Streaming Video via NC Live.

NC LIVE Video Collection

A selection of PBS programs, including films from award winning documentarian Ken Burns, and series such as Scientific American Frontiers, American Experience, and Frontline.

NC OneMap

NC OneMap is a public service providing comprehensive discovery and access to North Carolina’s geospatial data resources. It is an organized effort of numerous partners throughout North Carolina, involving local, state, and federal government agencies, the private sector and academia.

NEJM: Videos in Clinical Medicine

These are peer-reviewed educational videos that capitalize on the ability of moving images to teach procedures requiring skilled techniques and specialized physical examination. This first series of teaching videos is intended to help students, trainees, and younger physicians to learn procedural techniques from experienced colleagues.

Nephrology On-Demand videos

These evidence-based, faculty-reviewed, non-industry-sponsored teaching resources are targeted for nephrology providers and patients. These videos are developed and maintained by the faculty of the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension at East Carolina University's Brody School of Medicine.

New Oxford Shakespeare

The New Oxford Shakespeare presents an entirely new consideration of all of Shakespeare's works, edited from first principles from the base-texts themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship. Including Modern Critical Edition, Critical Reference Edition and Authorship Companion.

New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Full Text Included. Coverage: 1922-1993

New York Tribune (1841-1962)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Full Text Included. Coverage: 1841-1962

Nineteenth-Century U.S. Newspapers

Contains digital facsimile images of American historical newspapers from the 19th century. Contents include digitized collections of holdings from the Library of Congress, the Wisconsin Historical Society, the South Carolinian Library, the Scholarly Resources Archive, the Maryland State Archive, and the Boston Public Library, among others. Coverage includes major papers, minority publications, publications of social activist groups, and illustrated papers.

NLM Drug Information Portal

The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. You may search by a drug’s trade name or generic name and spell checker gives suggestions if the name is not found.

NLM Index-Catalogue

The Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office (Index-Catalogue) is a multi-part printed bibliography or list of items in the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office, U.S. Army. It contains material dated from the 1400s through 1950 and is an important resource for researchers in the history of medicine, history of science, and for clinical research.

Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Drawn from journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, this database presents published as well as some previously unpublished letters and diaries of women of all age groups and life stages who represent diverse ethnicities and geographic regions. Years of Coverage: 1675 - 1950

North Carolina Collection Biographical Index

The North Carolina Collection Biography Index is an index of citations to biographical sketches of North Carolinians, and was produced by the staff of the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Years of Coverage: 1700s - 1900s

North Carolina Newspapers

Full-text articles from numerous newspapers in North Carolina. Titles include Charlotte Observer, Asheville Citizen-Times, The News & Observer, Winston-Salem Journal, Greensboro News & Record.

North Carolina Periodicals Index

The North Carolina Periodicals Index provides access to articles in North Carolina periodicals, most of which are not indexed in standard reference tools. The periodicals indexed are available in the Verona Joyner Langford North Carolina Collection, on the third floor of Joyner Library.

North Carolina Rural Data Bank

The Rural Data Bank is North Carolina's leading source of information on rural people, communities and the rural economy. The goal of the data bank is to provide leaders and concerned citizens with the statistical information they need to bring about a more prosperous rural North Carolina. The site contains information on county profiles, topic profiles, trends and issues.

North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics

The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports, and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics. The SCHS's goal is to improve the health of all North Carolinians and their communities.

North Carolina State Government Publications Collection

The North Carolina State Government Publications Collection contains both current and historical state publications produced by the agencies of NC State Government.

Access is limited to ECU Division of Health Sciences on-campus use only.

Problems with Micromedex web or mobile access? Call the Vidant Health Help Desk at 847-5111. For mobile access to Micromedex apps, obtain passwords by clicking here.

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus is a comprehensive online readers' advisory tool used to search hundreds of thousands of popular fiction and nonfiction titles, and also retrieve author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and more. It includes genre outlines and online training materials for librarians to familiarize staff with appeal factors, the RA interview, and other aspects of readers' advisory.

NTIS (National Technical Information Service)

The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) is the preeminent resource for access to the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964. Access requires registration.

NTIS access requires registration. To access the database, follow the instructions for creating an account.

Nurse Theorists: Portraits of Excellence

Nurse Theorists: Portraits of Excellence explores the life work and life stories of sixteen innovative women who are widely regarded as nursing's premiere scholars.Each program featuring a modern theorist includes video interviews in which the theorist discusses her life, the evolution of her work, and the impact of that work on nursing practice and education. These programs also contain a bibliography of the theorist's writings and a resource list highlighting helpful websites and organizations.

Requires QuickTime and Flash plugin.

Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest)

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source makes it easy to find reliable healthcare information. This database provides full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support the study of the many aspects of nursing or the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences.

Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive

Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Nearly all full text titles included in Nursing & Allied Health: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in CINAHL.

Nursing Education in Video

Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.

Nursing Skills (ClinicalKey)

This is an online skills and procedures reference system and is built using learning management system (LMS) functionality allowing nurse managers and educators to assign, track, and manage skills and test hospital staff. It includes supplementary material such as patient handouts that are indexed and tied to specific skills