Explore our Database List



All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Databases > P
P
PAIS Index

PAIS International Index and Archive contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Publications from more than 120 countries and in a variety of languages are included. Years of Coverage: 1972 - Current

PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database

PEDro includes clinical trials and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of physiotherapy interventions published in peer reviewed journals. All items are scored on methodological quality, and search results are ranked by methodological score. From the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly IIPA)

Article citations in a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic. Years of Coverage: 1864-current; most from 1998 onward

Periodicals Archive Online

Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content. Years of Coverage: varies by journal, 1770 - 2000

Periodicals Index Online

Periodicals Index Online is a database of millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years. Years of Coverage: 1665 – 1995

Perseus

The Perseus Project is a digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world. It includes historical overviews, an encyclopedia, primary texts in Greek and English, and thousands of images and descriptions of vases, coins, scupture, buildings and sites.

Pharmaceutical News Index

News on medical technology, research and legislative developments.

Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Full Text Included. Coverage: 1860-2001

Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Philosopher's Index

Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, history, and education.Years of Coverage: 1940 - Current

Access is limited to 1 user at a time.

PhilPapers

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy and includes an index of 2,283,312 entries categorized in 5,266 categories.

Physical Education Index

Features a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered.

PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress

This bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.

Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1911 - 2002.

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1786 - 2003.

PLAmetrics

PLAmetrics is the portal to the Public Library Data Service (PLDS) Statistical Report digital database.

Access is limited to 1 user at a time. Users must obtain login credentials by clicking here.

Political Science (ProQuest)

Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.

Click here for a guide to this database

Pollution Abstracts

Database combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource and provides fast access to the environmental information necessary to resolve day-to-day problems, ensure ongoing compliance and handle emergency situations more effectively.

Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900

Popular Medicine in America presents materials from the Library Company of Philadelphia’s extensive collection. The resource documents the history of ‘popular’ medicine in America during the nineteenth century, featuring a wide variety of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals, and which enabled the ordinary person to treat himself and his family at home using an array of inventive methods and fashionable techniques.  The material includes: Advertisements (in the form of posters, broadsides, trade cards, and leaflets), popular educational texts aimed at a non-professional audience, writings on preventive medicine and guides to a healthy regimen. Themes that are covered include: herbal medicine, hydrotherapy, the Thomsonian Movement, homeopathy, phrenology, women’s health and childbirth, and ‘Quack’ cures.

Prescriber's Letter

Prescriber's Letter is a subscription service for prescribers to keep them up to date on new developments in drug therapy, is independent, and has no connection with any pharmaceutical firm.  The service consists of a monthly letter, plus Detail-Documents available 24 hours a day. Detail-Documents provide in-depth coverage answering many specific questions related to each topic.

Primal Pictures (aka Anatomy.tv)

Primal Pictures (also known as anatomy.tv) includes anatomical images, MRI scans, dissection slides, movies (including biomechanics animations), and clinical text. The head and neck, spine, hand, shoulder, thorax, pelvis, hip, knee, and foot are explored in a regional approach to anatomical study. The resource includes sports & therapy, dentistry, and surgical modules, and most content is exportable for use in lectures, posters, and other projects.

Access limited to 13 concurrent users.

Project MUSE

Full-text access to approximately many journals published by academic presses in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

ProQuest Biology

ProQuest Biology spans all of ProQuest's resources in the biological sciences.

ProQuest Computing

Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text content spanning all of ProQuest's computer science resources.

ProQuest Congressional

Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text of publications from and about the U.S. Congress. It includes congressional bills, hearings, testimony, reports, committee prints, and the Congressional Record. Also includes the U.S. Code, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and Statutes at Large. Biographies, committee assignments, voting records and financial data are provided for current members of Congress.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. Its coverage spans from the 18th century to the present day and includes full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Click here for a guide to this database

ProQuest Education Journals

ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database.

ProQuest Executive Branch Documents

A large collection of hearings, reports,  bill histories, and miscellaneous documents  issued by and about the U.S. executive branch.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Offers full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times starting from 1851, The Wall Street Journal from 1889, The Washington Post starting from 1877, The Los Angeles Times starting from 1881, The Christian Science Monitor starting from 1908, and the Chicago Defender starting from 1905. Researchers can use the database to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.

ProQuest Linguistics

This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Full Text Included

ProQuest Primary Source Collection

This collection contains 300 multidisciplinary resources including primary source documents, archival collections, government documents, periodicals, newspapers, video and more.

ProQuest Research Companion

An award-winning, cloud-based information literacy solution that enables educators and librarians to guide students through research projects efficiently.

ProQuest Research Library

General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.

Click here for a guide to this database

ProQuest Science

This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s. Full Text Included.

ProQuest Search

Searches all available ProQuest databases.

ProQuest US Newsstream

News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.

ProQuest Women's Wear Daily Archive

A comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.

PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The articles originate from the APA and APA-allied organizations. Letters to the editor and errata from each journal are also included.

Psychiatry Online

Psychiatry Online is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-5—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing. Access includes DSM-5, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Cases.  Also included are journals, textbooks, guidelines, self-assessment tools, clinical/research news, and patient handouts.

Psychotherapy.net

Psychotherapy.net provides informative counseling, therapy, and social work videos. It has produced or licensed 298 videos that meet the highest standard of quality and relevance to clinicians and educators and made them available online. The collection is searchable by keyword, expert, therapeutic issue, and client population.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from periodicals in multiple languages.

Click here for a guide to this database

Publisher's Weekly Digital Archive

Continuously published since 1872, Publishers Weekly has consistently been an authoritative voice for US publishing industry news and book reviews, with ongoing coverage of the British book trade. Individual ECU users accessing Publishers Weekly Digital Archive may register an account that will allow them to save search history, build private lists and review their tag history. Click on My Account at the top of the Publishers Weekly Digital Archive header.

PubMed

This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

If you are a non-ECU user, go to http://www.pubmed.gov for this resource.

Mobile Resources Overview

PubMed BookShelf

The Bookshelf is a growing collection of biomedical books. Books are also linked to terms in PubMed abstracts so, when viewing an abstract, select the "Books" link to see phrases within the abstract hyperlinked to book sections.

PubMed Health

PubMed Health is a consumer health website produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. PubMed Health provides up-to-date information on diseases, conditions, injuries, drugs, supplements, treatment options, and healthy living, with a special focus on comparative effectiveness research from institutions around the world.