Anatomy Atlases is a digital library of anatomy information from the University of Iowa. Includes cross sectional and microscopic images.
anatomy.tv (also known as Primal Pictures) includes anatomical images, MRI scans, dissection slides, movies (including biomechanics animations), and clinical text. The head and neck, spine, hand, shoulder, thorax, pelvis, hip, knee, and foot are explored in a regional approach to anatomical study. The resource includes sports & therapy, dentistry, and surgical modules, and most content is exportable for use in lectures, posters, and other projects.
An extensive compilation of downloadable, high resolution images. Content encompasses art, architecture, photography, the humanities, and social sciences. Searchable by gallery, museum, subject, period, region, and keyword. Features include zooming and side-by-side comparison.
e-Anatomy contains thousands of slices from normal CT and MR exams selected to cover the entire sectional anatomy of the human body. Images are labeled using Terminologia Anatomica.
Contains fiction and non-fiction volumes, museum artifacts, maps, and educational material pertaining to the history of the 41 counties in Eastern North Carolina.
Provides access to thousands of images, texts, and audio/video from ECU’s diverse collections and beyond.
This site allows users to choose a body system and then view interactive anatomical images with labels and descriptions.
From the beginning of the Crimean War to the discovery of penicillin, Medical Services and Warfare gathers material from multiple conflicts and institutions to build a picture of the experience and development of medical practice as influenced by the wars of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries
A four-page weekly newspaper feature directed to kids but of interest to readers of all ages. Covers topics relevant to elementary education. Feature topics include science, government, animals, hobbies, artists, holidays, biography, geography, history, manners, etc. Each issue
Complete online archive of National Geographic magazines including articles, photographs and maps since 1888.
The Osler Library Prints Collection brings together a rich variety of visual documents related to the history of medicine, spanning several centuries, countries, and artistic media. Ranging from the seventeenth to the twentieth century, the collection consists predominantly of prints, though it also includes some photographs, drawings, posters, and cartoons.
Popular Medicine in America presents materials from the Library Company of Philadelphia’s extensive collection. The resource documents the history of ‘popular’ medicine in America during the nineteenth century, featuring a wide variety of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals, and which enabled the ordinary person to treat himself and his family at home using an array of inventive methods and fashionable techniques. The material includes: Advertisements (in the form of posters, broadsides, trade cards, and leaflets), popular educational texts aimed at a non-professional audience, writings on preventive medicine and guides to a healthy regimen. Themes that are covered include: herbal medicine, hydrotherapy, the Thomsonian Movement, homeopathy, phrenology, women’s health and childbirth, and ‘Quack’ cures.
Provides access to anatomical images, MRI scans, dissection slides, movies (including biomechanics animations), and clinical text. The head and neck, spine, hand, shoulder, thorax, pelvis, hip, knee, and foot are explored in a regional approach to anatomical study. Includes sports & therapy, dentistry, and surgical modules. Most content is exportable for use in lectures, posters, and other projects.
Access limited to 13 concurrent users.
Visible Body is a 3D human anatomy visualization and learning tool which includes content covered in undergraduate-level Anatomy and Physiology courses. Visible Body makes it possible to: Search for and locate anatomical structures by name; Hide, rotate, see through, and explore human anatomy.; Move the model in three-dimensional space, by either clicking directly on the model or using the virtual joystick.; Zoom in and out, using either the on-screen zoom slider or a mouse scroll wheel.
Requires Flash Player 9.0+ and Unity Web Player 2.1+
Digitized artworks and photographs from the Wellcome Collection’s library. Wellcome had a personal interest in medical and ethnographic objects and the objects, artworks and photographs he collected were initially presented in the Wellcome Historical Medical Museum. Over the subsequent decades the library and its collections developed to become Wellcome Collection as it now is: a free museum and library exploring health, life and our place in the world.