Explore our Database List


ProQuest will be preforming maintainance on many of their products beginning on August 18 at 10:00 p.m. and will conclude within 8 hours. During this maintenance window, some ProQuest products will be temporarily unavailable.

All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Databases > Medicine
Recommended Resources
EBM Reviews (all including Cochrane)

This OVID multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the four Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE). Note that Mapping is not available in OVID Multifile databases.

Access is limited to seven (7) simultaneous users at a time.

MEDLINE via Ovid

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Tip: There are several versions of Ovid's Medline to choose from which vary by date. Many find it useful to select the first or second version and then limit dates for their searches.

MEDLINE via PubMed

This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

If you are a non-ECU user, go to http://www.pubmed.gov for this resource.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from periodicals in multiple languages.

Click here for a guide to this database

A
AccessAnesthesiology

AccessAnesthesiology offers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content – optimized for viewing on any device. The database includes instant access to procedural videos, self-assessment, and leading anesthesiology textbooks that establish a solid foundation for learning.

AccessAnesthesiology works best in either the FireFox or Chrome browser.

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine provides students, residents, clinicians, and researchers with instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted sources to keep pace with the changing practice of medicine.

Please update all bookmarks to ensure seamless access into textbooks. AccessMedicine works best in either the FireFox or Chrome browser.

AccessSurgery

AccessSurgery provides textbooks, videos, journal reviews and other materials that relate to surgery and surgical education.

Please update all bookmarks to ensure seamless access into textbooks. AccessSurgery works best in either the FireFox or Chrome browser.

ACP Journal Club (EBM Reviews via Ovid)

ACP Journal Club includes the complete text of ACP Journal Club (1991-date) and BMJ's Evidence Based Medicine (1995-1999), which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals.

AGRICOLA

Agricola is the National Agricultural Library’s catalog. Worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature.

B
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)

Abstracts of medically-oriented clinical and research literature in bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics. A subfile of ProQuest's Environmental Science & Pollution Management Database. Years of Coverage: 1982 - present

Biological Abstracts

Indexing and abstracts of journal articles covering the life sciences literature worldwide.  Years of Coverage: 1926 - present.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive

Covers clinical medicine, nursing, allied health, public health, nutrition, health management information, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the preclinical sciences.  Years of Coverage: Full text back as far as 1990 for some titles.

BMJ Best Practice

BMJ Best Practice gives medical professionals the best available information for any clinical situation. Regularly updated, it draws on the latest evidence-based research to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.

Students in tax classes at ECU receive passwords from their professors. Other ECU students, faculty, and staff who wish to use Checkpoint must obtain a password by clicking here.

C
Canopy

Canopy is a course that teaches specialized medical concepts and terminology across a wide spectrum of commonly-encountered clinical scenarios, to enable providers to establish a rapport with their Spanish-speaking patients.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention

The Center for Disease Control and Prevention's website contains a variety of resources about health and safety topics, data and statistics, and news and events that relate to health and disease.

CINAHL Complete

CINAHL covers the literature related to nursing and allied health fields, which include physical and radiologic therapy; cardiopulmonary, medical and laboratory technology; occupational therapy; radiologic technology; social assisting; the physician's assistant; surgical technology; and health education. CINAHL subject headings reflect the terminology used by nursing and allied health professionals, and approximately 70% of CINAHL headings also appear in MEDLINE.

Click here for a guide to this database

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey is a clinical insight engine designed to quickly return point-of-care, educational, and research information with a single keyword search. MEDLINE citations, research articles, book chapters, point-of-care summaries, images, charts, graphs, and video procedures are all included in result sets. ClinicalKey replaces Elsevier's longstanding MD Consult, Procedures Consult, and First Consult platforms.

Mobile Resources Overview

ClinicalTrials.gov

ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (EBM Reviews via Ovid)

The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) serves as the most comprehensive source of reports of  controlled trials. CENTRAL is published as part of The Cochrane Library, is updated quarterly, and contains citations to reports of trials and other studies potentially eligible for inclusion in Cochrane reviews.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews via Ovid)

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.

Cochrane Methodology Register Database Guide

The Cochrane Methodology Register is a database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of healthcare and social interventions. The database includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, conference abstracts and reports of ongoing methodological research. Content is constantly expanded by an extensive handsearching program and the development of a series of search strategies in MEDLINE and EMBASE to identify relevant reports. This activity is funded by the National Health Service Research and Development Methodology Programme in England.

D
DynaMed Plus

Updated 24x7x365, DynaMed Plus provides current, evidence-based information to support clinical decision making at the point of care. DynaMed Plus contains concise, accurate overviews for the most common conditions and evidence-based recommendations for action. Features include: thousands of medical graphics and images, specialty content, and mobile access.

Mobile Resources Overview

E
e-Echocardiography

e-Echocardiography is a web site dedicated to promoting education on echocardiography, ultrasound, cardiology, cardiac anesthesiology, anesthesiology, and cardiac sonography. e-Echocardiography offers CMEs and Self Assessment Exams.

EBM Reviews (all including Cochrane)

This OVID multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the four Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE). Note that Mapping is not available in OVID Multifile databases.

Access is limited to seven (7) simultaneous users at a time.

Evidence-Based Practice Education Center of Excellence

This guide provides a collection of resources that support teaching and learning in Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) for faculty, librarians, students, and other health care professionals.

EXAM MASTER

EXAM MASTER provides exam preparation and review software for multiple health professions. EXAM MASTER covers: USMLE (Steps 1-3), specialty certifications (Internal Medicine, Family Medicine, General Surgery, General Pediatrics), PANCE/PANRE, NAPLEX and Dental review (NBDE Part 1).

Registration is required, and is free for ECU faculty, staff, and students.

F
Films on Demand

Films on Demand provides access to thousands of video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health & Medicine, Science & Mathematics, and archival films & newsreels.

Free Books 4 Doctors

Includes many important medical textbooks available online with unrestricted access. Free and in full-text.

H
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI assists in the identification of measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.

Allows for 1 simultaneous user.

Healthstar

Ovid Healthstar is comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former HealthSTAR databases. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery and contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research.

Henry Stewart Talks

The Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection publishes animated audiovisual presentations or seminars by leading world experts. Every talk has been specially commissioned with informative visuals and synchronized narration which preserve each speaker's personality and approach. Talk categories include biochemistry, cancer, genetics and pharmaceutical science.

I
Issues & Controversies

Provides up-to-date, in-depth factual information on a broad range of current issues and controversies. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced coverage of current and historical events.

J
JAMAevidence

Evidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.

Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports presents quantifiable statistical data from the ISI database and provides a systematic, objective way to determine the journal’s impact factor, which can be an indication of relative importance of journals within their subject categories. JCR consists of two editions: the Science Edition covers leading international science journals from the ISI database; the Social Sciences Edition covers leading international social sciences journals.

M
Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics

This resource includes both the Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics and the Treatment Guidelines from the Medical Letter. Users are able to access articles from either publication and CME/CE opportunities from Medical Letter.

MEDLINE via Ovid

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Tip: There are several versions of Ovid's Medline to choose from which vary by date. Many find it useful to select the first or second version and then limit dates for their searches.

MEDLINE via PubMed

This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

If you are a non-ECU user, go to http://www.pubmed.gov for this resource.

Micromedex

Search for summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, disease, alternative medicine, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and emergency care

Access is limited to ECU Division of Health Sciences on-campus use only. Problems with Micromedex web or mobile access? Call the Vidant Health Help Desk at 847-5111. For mobile access to Micromedex apps, obtain passwords by clicking here.

Mobile Resources Overview

N
National Guideline Clearinghouse

The National Guidelines Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

NEJM: Videos in Clinical Medicine

These are peer-reviewed educational videos that capitalize on the ability of moving images to teach procedures requiring skilled techniques and specialized physical examination. This first series of teaching videos is intended to help students, trainees, and younger physicians to learn procedural techniques from experienced colleagues.

Nephrology On-Demand videos

These evidence-based, faculty-reviewed, non-industry-sponsored teaching resources are targeted for nephrology providers and patients. These videos are developed and maintained by the faculty of the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension at East Carolina University's Brody School of Medicine.

P
Prescriber's Letter

Prescriber's Letter is a subscription service for prescribers to keep them up to date on new developments in drug therapy, is independent, and has no connection with any pharmaceutical firm.  The service consists of a monthly letter, plus Detail-Documents available 24 hours a day. Detail-Documents provide in-depth coverage answering many specific questions related to each topic.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from periodicals in multiple languages.

Click here for a guide to this database

PubMed

This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

If you are a non-ECU user, go to http://www.pubmed.gov for this resource.

Mobile Resources Overview

R
RefWorks - Legacy Interface

RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool. RefWorks is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store, and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Must register to use. For off-campus access to Write-N-Cite, obtain login credentials by clicking here.

RefWorks - New Interface

RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool. RefWorks is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store, and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Click here for a guide to this resource

S
Science

Founded in 1880 on $10,000 of seed money from the American inventor Thomas Edison, Science has grown to become a leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research. Science continues to publish the very best in scientific research, news, and opinion. Whether you're concerned with AIDS, SARS, genomic medicine, Mars, or global warming, or just want to keep abreast of where the scientific world is and where it's going, you will find something worthwhile in Science.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect provides access to the full-text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier. Botany is included.

Click here for a guide to this database

SMART Imagebase

The Scientific & Medical ART (SMART) Imagebase is a collection of 20,000+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics. SMART Imagebase users may download images for educational, non-commercial use in lectures, presentations, slide shows, web sites and more. Common types of visual presentations include PowerPoint™ shows, handouts, poster sessions, and interactive Flash animations.

SPIN Funding Opportunities Database

SPIN, which stands for Sponsored Programs Information Network, is an extensive research funding opportunity database. SPIN contains over 40,000 opportunities from more than 10,000 sponsors. With SPIN, you can: Access funding information online from any browser, organize grant information in one convenient place, gain access to the largest keyword list, allowing for greater flexibility in your searches, quickly locate Limited Submission Opportunities with Federal or non-Federal programs, and locate all types of funding information—Fed Business Opps / Federal Register Guide.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

Comprehensive, bibliographic and full-text database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health

Access is limited to 4 users at a time.

Click here for a guide to this database

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video is a large collection of streaming videos covering the topics of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and more.

STAT!Ref

STAT!Ref® is an online healthcare reference that integrates core titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools.

Access is limited to between one (1) and seven (7) users at a time, based on title.

T
TRIP Database

Locate high quality, evidence based medical literature using this metasearch engine.

U
UpToDate

UpToDate is specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice and to do so quickly, easily, and at the point of care.

UpToDate is provided by Vidant Medical Center. Access is limited to ECU Division of Health Sciences on-campus use only. Problems with UpToDate access? Call the Vidant Health Help Desk at 847-5111.

Mobile Resources Overview

W
Wiley Online Library

Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of book and journal literature covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.