Explore our Database List


ProQuest will be preforming maintainance on many of their products beginning on August 18 at 10:00 p.m. and will conclude within 8 hours. During this maintenance window, some ProQuest products will be temporarily unavailable.

All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Databases > Dental Medicine
Recommended Resources
MEDLINE via PubMed

This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

If you are a non-ECU user, go to http://www.pubmed.gov for this resource.

Scopus

Scopus is one of the world’s largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web resources. Included in the database are approximately 50 million records for resources from over 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Among Scopus’s features are tools to track, analyze, and visualize the impacts of research.

Access is limited to 1 user at a time. Scopus Document Download feature will not  be supported on the current or future versions of Chrome. To keep using the Scopus Document Download Manager on please use Internet Explorer version 10 or higher, Google Chrome up to version 44, or Safari 4 or higher.

Click here for a guide to this database; Users must obtain login credentials by clicking here.

A
Anatomy.tv (aka Primal Pictures)

anatomy.tv (also known as Primal Pictures) includes anatomical images, MRI scans, dissection slides, movies (including biomechanics animations), and clinical text. The head and neck, spine, hand, shoulder, thorax, pelvis, hip, knee, and foot are explored in a regional approach to anatomical study. The resource includes sports & therapy, dentistry, and surgical modules, and most content is exportable for use in lectures, posters, and other projects.

B
BMJ Best Practice

BMJ Best Practice gives medical professionals the best available information for any clinical situation. Regularly updated, it draws on the latest evidence-based research to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.

Students in tax classes at ECU receive passwords from their professors. Other ECU students, faculty, and staff who wish to use Checkpoint must obtain a password by clicking here.

C
Canopy

Canopy is a course that teaches specialized medical concepts and terminology across a wide spectrum of commonly-encountered clinical scenarios, to enable providers to establish a rapport with their Spanish-speaking patients.

CINAHL Complete

CINAHL covers the literature related to nursing and allied health fields, which include physical and radiologic therapy; cardiopulmonary, medical and laboratory technology; occupational therapy; radiologic technology; social assisting; the physician's assistant; surgical technology; and health education. CINAHL subject headings reflect the terminology used by nursing and allied health professionals, and approximately 70% of CINAHL headings also appear in MEDLINE.

Click here for a guide to this database

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey is a clinical insight engine designed to quickly return point-of-care, educational, and research information with a single keyword search. MEDLINE citations, research articles, book chapters, point-of-care summaries, images, charts, graphs, and video procedures are all included in result sets. ClinicalKey replaces Elsevier's longstanding MD Consult, Procedures Consult, and First Consult platforms.

Mobile Resources Overview

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews via Ovid)

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.

D
DynaMed Plus

Updated 24x7x365, DynaMed Plus provides current, evidence-based information to support clinical decision making at the point of care. DynaMed Plus contains concise, accurate overviews for the most common conditions and evidence-based recommendations for action. Features include: thousands of medical graphics and images, specialty content, and mobile access.

Mobile Resources Overview

E
e-Anatomy: Interactive Anatomy Atlas

e-Anatomy contains thousands of slices from normal CT and MR exams selected to cover the entire sectional anatomy of the human body. Images are labeled using Terminologia Anatomica.

EBM Reviews (all including Cochrane)

This OVID multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the four Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE). Note that Mapping is not available in OVID Multifile databases.

Access is limited to seven (7) simultaneous users at a time.

G
Google Scholar

Introduced in 2004. Includes peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, book citations, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of content providers. Some content is available in full text. At this time Google Scholar is not considered comprehensive for academic content.

J
JAMAevidence

Evidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.

L
Lexicomp for Dentistry

Lexicomp for Dentistry, an internet-based platform for dental-specific pharmacology and clinical information helps increase efficiency and improve patient care by offering office-wide access to continually updated content.

M
MEDLINE via Ovid

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Tip: There are several versions of Ovid's Medline to choose from which vary by date. Many find it useful to select the first or second version and then limit dates for their searches.

MEDLINE via PubMed

This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

If you are a non-ECU user, go to http://www.pubmed.gov for this resource.

P
Primal Pictures (aka Anatomy.tv)

Primal Pictures (also known as anatomy.tv) includes anatomical images, MRI scans, dissection slides, movies (including biomechanics animations), and clinical text. The head and neck, spine, hand, shoulder, thorax, pelvis, hip, knee, and foot are explored in a regional approach to anatomical study. The resource includes sports & therapy, dentistry, and surgical modules, and most content is exportable for use in lectures, posters, and other projects.

Access limited to 13 concurrent users.

R
RefWorks - Legacy Interface

RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool. RefWorks is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store, and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Must register to use. For off-campus access to Write-N-Cite, obtain login credentials by clicking here.

RefWorks - New Interface

RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool. RefWorks is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store, and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Click here for a guide to this resource

S
Scopus

Scopus is one of the world’s largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web resources. Included in the database are approximately 50 million records for resources from over 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Among Scopus’s features are tools to track, analyze, and visualize the impacts of research.

Access is limited to 1 user at a time. Scopus Document Download feature will not  be supported on the current or future versions of Chrome. To keep using the Scopus Document Download Manager on please use Internet Explorer version 10 or higher, Google Chrome up to version 44, or Safari 4 or higher.

Click here for a guide to this database; Users must obtain login credentials by clicking here.

T
TRIP Database

Locate high quality, evidence based medical literature using this metasearch engine.

U
UpToDate

UpToDate is specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice and to do so quickly, easily, and at the point of care.

UpToDate is provided by Vidant Medical Center. Access is limited to ECU Division of Health Sciences on-campus use only. Problems with UpToDate access? Call the Vidant Health Help Desk at 847-5111.

Mobile Resources Overview