Explore our Database List



All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Databases > Allied Health
Recommended Resources
CINAHL Complete

CINAHL covers the literature related to nursing and allied health fields, which include physical and radiologic therapy; cardiopulmonary, medical and laboratory technology; occupational therapy; radiologic technology; social assisting; the physician's assistant; surgical technology; and health education. CINAHL subject headings reflect the terminology used by nursing and allied health professionals, and approximately 70% of CINAHL headings also appear in MEDLINE.

Click here for a guide to this database

MEDLINE via Ovid

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Tip: There are several versions of Ovid's Medline to choose from which vary by date. Many find it useful to select the first or second version and then limit dates for their searches.

MEDLINE via PubMed

This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

If you are a non-ECU user, go to http://www.pubmed.gov for this resource.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from periodicals in multiple languages.

Click here for a guide to this database

A
ABI/INFORM Collection

In-depth coverage of business and management publications. Includes journals, dissertations, working papers, key business newspapers, trade publications, country-and industry-focused reports and data. Topics covered include business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information.

Click here for a guide to this database

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine provides students, residents, clinicians, and researchers with instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted sources to keep pace with the changing practice of medicine.

Please update all bookmarks to ensure seamless access into textbooks. AccessMedicine works best in either the FireFox or Chrome browser.

AccessSurgery

AccessSurgery provides textbooks, videos, journal reviews and other materials that relate to surgery and surgical education.

Please update all bookmarks to ensure seamless access into textbooks. AccessSurgery works best in either the FireFox or Chrome browser.

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy uses unembalmed human specimens to illustrate anatomical structures. Object rotation of the structures allows for a 3D view that one would normally only see in a cadaver lab.

Acland's works best in either the FireFox or Internet Explorer (IE) browsers. Technical problems have been reported when using Safari.

Anatomy.tv (aka Primal Pictures)

anatomy.tv (also known as Primal Pictures) includes anatomical images, MRI scans, dissection slides, movies (including biomechanics animations), and clinical text. The head and neck, spine, hand, shoulder, thorax, pelvis, hip, knee, and foot are explored in a regional approach to anatomical study. The resource includes sports & therapy, dentistry, and surgical modules, and most content is exportable for use in lectures, posters, and other projects.

APA Style Guide to Electronic References

Adapted from the sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, this comprehensive guide offers up-to-date information on formatting electronic references in APA Style. It outlines the key elements to include when referencing electronic sources, with an emphasis on using the digital object identifier (DOI) to locate web-based information reliably. Most important, it provides a wealth of examples for readers to model for everything from online journal articles to supplemental data sets and measurement instruments to books, videos, apps, websites, podcasts, blog posts, and social media.

B
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)

Abstracts of medically-oriented clinical and research literature in bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics. A subfile of ProQuest's Environmental Science & Pollution Management Database. Years of Coverage: 1982 - present

C
Canopy

Canopy is a course that teaches specialized medical concepts and terminology across a wide spectrum of commonly-encountered clinical scenarios, to enable providers to establish a rapport with their Spanish-speaking patients.

CINAHL Complete

CINAHL covers the literature related to nursing and allied health fields, which include physical and radiologic therapy; cardiopulmonary, medical and laboratory technology; occupational therapy; radiologic technology; social assisting; the physician's assistant; surgical technology; and health education. CINAHL subject headings reflect the terminology used by nursing and allied health professionals, and approximately 70% of CINAHL headings also appear in MEDLINE.

Click here for a guide to this database

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey is a clinical insight engine designed to quickly return point-of-care, educational, and research information with a single keyword search. MEDLINE citations, research articles, book chapters, point-of-care summaries, images, charts, graphs, and video procedures are all included in result sets. ClinicalKey replaces Elsevier's longstanding MD Consult, Procedures Consult, and First Consult platforms.

Mobile Resources Overview

Counseling and Therapy in Video

A collection of videos for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Videos range from counseling sessions, demonstrations and consultations to lectures, presentations, and interviews. Indexed by client and therapist details, enabling users to find materials dealing specifically with counseling African-Americans or Latinos, for example, or with counseling children or the elderly. A searchable transcript is included with each video.

D
DynaMed Plus

Updated 24x7x365, DynaMed Plus provides current, evidence-based information to support clinical decision making at the point of care. DynaMed Plus contains concise, accurate overviews for the most common conditions and evidence-based recommendations for action. Features include: thousands of medical graphics and images, specialty content, and mobile access.

Mobile Resources Overview

E
e-Anatomy: Interactive Anatomy Atlas

e-Anatomy contains thousands of slices from normal CT and MR exams selected to cover the entire sectional anatomy of the human body. Images are labeled using Terminologia Anatomica.

e-Echocardiography

e-Echocardiography is a web site dedicated to promoting education on echocardiography, ultrasound, cardiology, cardiac anesthesiology, anesthesiology, and cardiac sonography. e-Echocardiography offers CMEs and Self Assessment Exams.

EBM Reviews (all including Cochrane)

This OVID multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the four Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE). Note that Mapping is not available in OVID Multifile databases.

Access is limited to seven (7) simultaneous users at a time.

Embase

Embase is a biomedical database that focuses on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic science relevant to clinical medicine. Especially strong coverage on drug trials. Note: Access to the resource sunsets 8/31/2019

Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences

This reference book provides different definitions and histories on various terms related to statistics.

ERIC via ProQuest

The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC is the premiere indexing and abstracting source for education and related disciplines. Journal and non-journal literature indexed.

ERIC via US Department of Education

The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC is the premiere indexing and abstracting source for education and related disciplines.  Journal and non-journal literature indexed.  Selectively full-text for the document (non-journal) portion of the database. This is a public, freely-available website. Years of Coverage: 1966 - present

EXAM MASTER

EXAM MASTER provides exam preparation and review software for multiple health professions. EXAM MASTER covers: USMLE (Steps 1-3), specialty certifications (Internal Medicine, Family Medicine, General Surgery, General Pediatrics), PANCE/PANRE, NAPLEX and Dental review (NBDE Part 1).

Registration is required, and is free for ECU faculty, staff, and students.

F
Films on Demand

Films on Demand provides access to thousands of video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health & Medicine, Science & Mathematics, and archival films & newsreels.

G
Google Scholar

Introduced in 2004. Includes peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, book citations, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of content providers. Some content is available in full text. At this time Google Scholar is not considered comprehensive for academic content.

H
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI assists in the identification of measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.

Allows for 1 simultaneous user.

Health & Society in Video

Health and Society in Video is an online collection of streaming documentaries focusing on health issues and their impact on society.

Healthstar

Ovid Healthstar is comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former HealthSTAR databases. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery and contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research.

I
ICE Video Library

International Clinical Educators (ICE) specializes in "Bringing the Clinic into the Classroom" with multimedia clinical education programs. All of the ICE videos are professionally filmed with actual patients and therapists in real-life treatment settings including acute care, rehab, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. Streaming video technology provides excellent visual resources to both faculty and students in physical therapy and occupational therapy curriculum.

Issues & Controversies

Provides up-to-date, in-depth factual information on a broad range of current issues and controversies. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced coverage of current and historical events.

L
Lab Tests Online

Produced by laboratory professional societies, this site provides descriptions of laboratory tests including interpretation information. The site also includes a list of conditions and diseases along with the tests that are typically used in the diagnosis and treatment of these conditions and diseases.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics, descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Major areas of coverage include applied linguistics, discourse analysis, psycholinguistics, and semiotics. Years of Coverage: 1973 – Current

M
MEDLINE via Ovid

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Tip: There are several versions of Ovid's Medline to choose from which vary by date. Many find it useful to select the first or second version and then limit dates for their searches.

MEDLINE via PubMed

This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

If you are a non-ECU user, go to http://www.pubmed.gov for this resource.

N
Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest)

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source makes it easy to find reliable healthcare information. This database provides full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support the study of the many aspects of nursing or the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences.

Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive

Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Nearly all full text titles included in Nursing & Allied Health: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in CINAHL.

O
OT SEARCH

Includes monographs, proceedings, reports, doctoral dissertations, master's theses and retrospective collection of Occupational Therapy journals and newsletters held in the Wilma L. West Library, a national clearinghouse of occupational therapy information for AOTA members and personnel.

OTSeeker

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. In one database, OTseeker provides you with fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources.

P
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database

PEDro includes clinical trials and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of physiotherapy interventions published in peer reviewed journals. All items are scored on methodological quality, and search results are ranked by methodological score. From the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney.

Primal Pictures (aka Anatomy.tv)

Primal Pictures (also known as anatomy.tv) includes anatomical images, MRI scans, dissection slides, movies (including biomechanics animations), and clinical text. The head and neck, spine, hand, shoulder, thorax, pelvis, hip, knee, and foot are explored in a regional approach to anatomical study. The resource includes sports & therapy, dentistry, and surgical modules, and most content is exportable for use in lectures, posters, and other projects.

Access limited to 13 concurrent users.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from periodicals in multiple languages.

Click here for a guide to this database

PubMed

This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

If you are a non-ECU user, go to http://www.pubmed.gov for this resource.

Mobile Resources Overview

R
RefWorks - Legacy Interface

RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool. RefWorks is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store, and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Must register to use. For off-campus access to Write-N-Cite, obtain login credentials by clicking here.

RefWorks - New Interface

RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool. RefWorks is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store, and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Click here for a guide to this resource

Rehabilitation Therapy in Video

An online collection of streaming video focused on the physical treatment of patients with congenital disorders, chronic health issues, and traumatic injuries. Videos include footage of occupational, physical, and speech therapists working with actual patients as well as models and illustrations.

S
SPORTDiscus with Full Text

Comprehensive, bibliographic and full-text database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health

Access is limited to 4 users at a time.

Click here for a guide to this database

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video is a large collection of streaming videos covering the topics of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and more.

T
Toxicology Abstracts

Surveys the literature for toxicology studies across a wide range of substances including industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, and pharmaceuticals. Issues covered include substance abuse, natural toxins, legislation and recommended standards, environmental issues, toxicity testing. This index is a subfile of the ProQuest Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Database. Includes links to full-text.

TRIP Database

Locate high quality, evidence based medical literature using this metasearch engine.

U
UpToDate

UpToDate is specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice and to do so quickly, easily, and at the point of care.

UpToDate is provided by Vidant Medical Center. Access is limited to ECU Division of Health Sciences on-campus use only. Problems with UpToDate access? Call the Vidant Health Help Desk at 847-5111.

Mobile Resources Overview