Explore our Database List



All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

All Databases > Sanborn Maps North Carolina
Requires PirateID Login Open Access Resource Trial Resource
Sanborn Maps North Carolina

Provides digital access to large-scale maps of many North Carolina towns and cities, searchable by address and GPS coordinates. Maps contain detailed data such as building outlines, size, use, construction details, and function of structures. They also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, house and block numbers, and other features like pipelines, railroads, and wells, and dumps. Content spans 1867-1970.

Eastern North Carolina Digital Library

Contains fiction and non-fiction volumes, museum artifacts, maps, and educational material pertaining to the history of the 41 counties in Eastern North Carolina.

TopoNC

Provides a database that allows keyword searching for places, features, and quadrangle names within the 7.5’ topographic maps of North Carolina. The results include county, quadrangle name, latitude and longitude, and a hyperlink for Joyner Library’s print holdings of 7.5’ topographic maps for the quadrangle. 

Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection

A collection of digitized North Carolina newspapers. Content spans 1700’s - 2000’s.

DigitalNC

Provides digital versions of primary source materials from cultural heritage institutions around North Carolina Presented by the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center. Materials are freely available for students, teachers, scholars, and anyone interested in the history and culture of North Carolina.

Open Education North Carolina Collection

A curated collection of free textbooks for 30 of the most frequently-taught courses across North Carolina’s 2 and 4-year colleges and universities.

North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics

The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports, and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics. The SCHS's goal is to improve the health of all North Carolinians and their communities.

Education Law in North Carolina

Provides a source of up-to-date information about federal and state laws and court cases that affect North Carolina’s public schools. Addresses a wide range of legal issues. Features clear, concise explanations of changes adopted by the North Carolina General Assembly, and information about recent court decisions affecting public schools.  Updated annually.

NC OneMap

NC OneMap is a public service providing comprehensive discovery and access to North Carolina’s geospatial data resources. It is an organized effort of numerous partners throughout North Carolina, involving local, state, and federal government agencies, the private sector and academia.

North Carolina Newspapers

Provides full-text articles from numerous newspapers in North Carolina. Titles include The Daily Reflector, Charlotte Observer, Asheville Citizen-Times, The News & Observer, Winston-Salem Journal, Greensboro News & Record.

North Carolina Periodicals Index

Provides access to articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics, including the arts, business, culture, history, law, natural resources, public policy, tourism, and travel. Coverage includes 68 current and historic publications. Content spans: 1930s – current.

Daily Reflector (Greenville, N.C.)

A daily newspaper serving Pitt County and eastern North Carolina.

Open Library NC

Provides access to digital scans of books contributed by libraries across the country, including many North Carolina Libraries. Made available to North Carolinians through a collaboration between the Internet Archive and NC LIVE.

NC Health Info

NC Health Info is an online guide to Web sites of quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina. Designed to meet the needs and interests of North Carolinians, NC Health Info leads users to resources that are reliable and easy to understand. Links on NC Health Info are selected and maintained by North Carolina librarians.

Health ENC

Provides socioeconomic, health and demographic data for community assessment, strategic planning, identifying best practices for improvement, collaboration and advocacy for Eastern North Carolina communities. A resource for the community health needs assessment (CHNA).

North Carolina Rural Data Bank

Provides information on rural people, communities and the rural economy. The site contains information on county profiles, topic profiles, trends and issues.

North Carolina State Government Publications Collection

Provides access to both current and historical state publications produced by the agencies of NC State Government. Topics include: health care, agriculture, transportation, and education.

UNC TV: North Carolina Public Media

Provides access to many streaming videos and other content created for PBS. Users can create a free PBS account to log in and access.

SimplyAnalytics

A mapping, analytics, and data visualization application for creating interactive maps and reports, using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing variables.

In order to save work users must create an account. Otherwise Guest Sign In can be used to access database. Access is limited to 5 users at a time.

GeoRef

A comprehensive bibliographic database for the geosciences. Includes over 3.9 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Covers the geology of North America from 1666 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters’ theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.

NC Live Homepage & Resources

NC LIVE is a consortium of North Carolina libraries, providing digital content and services to public and academic libraries statewide. Includes eBooks, magazines, newspapers, journals, media. ECU students, faculty, staff authenticate using the Pirate ID and password. Other users contact their local public library for NC LIVE access instructions and passwords.

National Geographic Magazine Archive

Complete online archive of National Geographic magazines including articles, photographs and maps since 1888.

Current Geographical Publications

Includes bibliographical references to books, periodical articles, pamphlets, government documents, maps and atlases added to the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Online version is browsable by issue.

Global Health Observatory (formerly WHO: Statistical Information System)

The Global Health Observatory is the data repository for the World Health Organization and provides reports, statistics, maps, and standards of worldwide significance.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set

Provides committee reports, official documents, maps, journals, memorials, and other materials from the US Senate and House of Representatives. Can be searched by Bill number.

ScholarShip

Provides a digital archive for the scholarly output of the ECU community. Its mission is to capture, preserve and make available the intellectual output of East Carolina University’s faculty, staff, and students.

Middle East and North Africa: Global Perspectives, 1957-1995

Provides translated journals, newspapers, scientific reports, radio and television broadcasts covering cultural, economic, and political developments within the region. Content spans 1958 - 1994.

Age of Exploration

A collection of diaries, journals, logbooks, manuscripts, correspondence, scientific and government documents, maps and charts, photographs and early film footage focusing on European and maritime exploration from the academic publisher Adam Matthew. Content spans 1410 - 1920.

Columbia International Affairs Online

Provides articles, books, conference proceedings, working papers, policy briefs, detailed maps and videos on international affairs. Topics include: security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies and environmental studies.

MasterFILE Premier

Provides indexing, abstracts and full text for magazines, reference books and primary source documents. Topics include: business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. Includes an image collection containing photos, maps and flags.

Nephrology On-Demand videos

These evidence-based, faculty-reviewed, non-industry-sponsored teaching resources are targeted for nephrology providers and patients. These videos are developed and maintained by the faculty of the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension at East Carolina University's Brody School of Medicine.

Anthropological Fieldwork Online

Fully-indexed, primary-source database displays the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective with archival collections from North America, Europe, and Asia Pacific. Includes key field notebooks, images, and recordings of the early- to mid-20th century scholars in the field.

Early Encounters in North America

A collection of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between native inhabitants and explorers from other countries. Topics include encounter, environment and places, flora, fauna, images, author, year, sources and personal or cultural events. Content spans 1492 - 2003

Geologic Field Trip Guidebooks Web Archive

A Web archive of web-based geoscience field trip guidebooks which document local geologic information and are often ephemeral, and only available for a short time — found in the Geologic Guidebooks of North America.

EBM Reviews (all including Cochrane)

This OVID multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the four Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE). Note that Mapping is not available in OVID Multifile databases.

Access is limited to seven (7) simultaneous users at a time.

Empire Online

Contains full-text primary resources dating from 1492 from the academic publisher Adam Matthew. Includes fully-searchable exploration journals and logs, correspondence, diaries; official government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and Illustrations, with many in color. Provides thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies.

Issues & Controversies

Provides full-text up-to-date, in-depth factual information on a broad range of current issues and controversies. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced coverage of current and historical events. Topics include: politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Content spans 1995 – present. 

Social Explorer

Provides quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. Includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000. Allows users to customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations.

Access is limited to 3 users at a time.

Africana Periodical Literature

An index of citations to English language and multi-lingual periodicals that specialize in African Studies or that consistently cover the African continent. The titles indexed in this database represent Africana materials from North America, Europe, Africa, and Asia. Topics include: religions, education, economics, and sex and gender studies among others. Content spans 1850 - Present.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Provides full text access to the personal writings of American women from all classes and walks of life, from colonial times to 1950. Includes published letters and diaries drawn from hundreds of sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings. Contains biographical information on authors when available.

Gale Primary Sources

Provides access to digital archives covering literary, political, and social culture of the past 500 years. Content includes manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, etc. Includes the following databases: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection; American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990; Archives Unbound; Archives of Sexuality & Gender; British Library Newspapers; Eighteenth Century Collections Online; The Making of the Modern World; Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers; 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection; Sabin Americana, 1500-1926; The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive; U.S. Declassified Documents Online; Women’s Studies Archive; The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020.