Explore our Database List



All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Databases > Nursing
Recommended Resources
CINAHL Complete

CINAHL covers the literature related to nursing and allied health fields, which include physical and radiologic therapy; cardiopulmonary, medical and laboratory technology; occupational therapy; radiologic technology; social assisting; the physician's assistant; surgical technology; and health education. CINAHL subject headings reflect the terminology used by nursing and allied health professionals, and approximately 70% of CINAHL headings also appear in MEDLINE.

Click here for a guide to this database

MEDLINE via PubMed

This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

If you are a non-ECU user, go to http://www.pubmed.gov for this resource.

Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest)

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source makes it easy to find reliable healthcare information. This database provides full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support the study of the many aspects of nursing or the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from periodicals in multiple languages.

Click here for a guide to this database

A
AccessAnesthesiology

AccessAnesthesiology offers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content – optimized for viewing on any device. The database includes instant access to procedural videos, self-assessment, and leading anesthesiology textbooks that establish a solid foundation for learning.

AccessAnesthesiology works best in either the FireFox or Chrome browser.

APA Style Guide to Electronic References

Adapted from the sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, this comprehensive guide offers up-to-date information on formatting electronic references in APA Style. It outlines the key elements to include when referencing electronic sources, with an emphasis on using the digital object identifier (DOI) to locate web-based information reliably. Most important, it provides a wealth of examples for readers to model for everything from online journal articles to supplemental data sets and measurement instruments to books, videos, apps, websites, podcasts, blog posts, and social media.

C
Canopy

Canopy is a course that teaches specialized medical concepts and terminology across a wide spectrum of commonly-encountered clinical scenarios, to enable providers to establish a rapport with their Spanish-speaking patients.

CINAHL Complete

CINAHL covers the literature related to nursing and allied health fields, which include physical and radiologic therapy; cardiopulmonary, medical and laboratory technology; occupational therapy; radiologic technology; social assisting; the physician's assistant; surgical technology; and health education. CINAHL subject headings reflect the terminology used by nursing and allied health professionals, and approximately 70% of CINAHL headings also appear in MEDLINE.

Click here for a guide to this database

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey is a clinical insight engine designed to quickly return point-of-care, educational, and research information with a single keyword search. MEDLINE citations, research articles, book chapters, point-of-care summaries, images, charts, graphs, and video procedures are all included in result sets. ClinicalKey replaces Elsevier's longstanding MD Consult, Procedures Consult, and First Consult platforms.

Mobile Resources Overview

ClinicalKey for Nursing

ClinicalKey for Nursing brings leading resources together in one integrated online service to help nurses efficiently find answers to pressing clinical questions. ClinicalKey for Nursing includes the latest drug information, patient education, professional journals, reference books, current news, clinical practices, care planning tools, and other evidence-based content. Formerly Nursing Consult (Mosby's)

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews via Ovid)

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.

D
DynaMed Plus

Updated 24x7x365, DynaMed Plus provides current, evidence-based information to support clinical decision making at the point of care. DynaMed Plus contains concise, accurate overviews for the most common conditions and evidence-based recommendations for action. Features include: thousands of medical graphics and images, specialty content, and mobile access.

Mobile Resources Overview

E
ECRI Guidelines Trust

ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available web-based repository of evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other clinical specialties, and members of the healthcare community with up-to-date, clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care. User's must register to search guideline database.

Embase

Embase is a biomedical database that focuses on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic science relevant to clinical medicine. Especially strong coverage on drug trials. Note: Access to the resource sunsets 8/31/2019

ERIC via ProQuest

The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC is the premiere indexing and abstracting source for education and related disciplines. Journal and non-journal literature indexed.

EXAM MASTER

EXAM MASTER provides exam preparation and review software for multiple health professions. EXAM MASTER covers: USMLE (Steps 1-3), specialty certifications (Internal Medicine, Family Medicine, General Surgery, General Pediatrics), PANCE/PANRE, NAPLEX and Dental review (NBDE Part 1).

Registration is required, and is free for ECU faculty, staff, and students.

F
Family Health (ProQuest)

Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand provides access to thousands of video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health & Medicine, Science & Mathematics, and archival films & newsreels.

G
Google Scholar

Introduced in 2004. Includes peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, book citations, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of content providers. Some content is available in full text. At this time Google Scholar is not considered comprehensive for academic content.

H
Health & Society in Video

Health and Society in Video is an online collection of streaming documentaries focusing on health issues and their impact on society.

Henry Stewart Talks

The Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection publishes animated audiovisual presentations or seminars by leading world experts. Every talk has been specially commissioned with informative visuals and synchronized narration which preserve each speaker's personality and approach. Talk categories include biochemistry, cancer, genetics and pharmaceutical science.

I
ICE Video Library

International Clinical Educators (ICE) specializes in "Bringing the Clinic into the Classroom" with multimedia clinical education programs. All of the ICE videos are professionally filmed with actual patients and therapists in real-life treatment settings including acute care, rehab, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. Streaming video technology provides excellent visual resources to both faculty and students in physical therapy and occupational therapy curriculum.

Issues & Controversies

Provides up-to-date, in-depth factual information on a broad range of current issues and controversies. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced coverage of current and historical events.

J
Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports presents quantifiable statistical data from the ISI database and provides a systematic, objective way to determine the journal’s impact factor, which can be an indication of relative importance of journals within their subject categories. JCR consists of two editions: the Science Edition covers leading international science journals from the ISI database; the Social Sciences Edition covers leading international social sciences journals.

M
MEDLINE via Ovid

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Tip: There are several versions of Ovid's Medline to choose from which vary by date. Many find it useful to select the first or second version and then limit dates for their searches.

MEDLINE via PubMed

This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

If you are a non-ECU user, go to http://www.pubmed.gov for this resource.

Micromedex

Search for summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, disease, alternative medicine, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and emergency care

Access is limited to ECU Division of Health Sciences on-campus use only. Problems with Micromedex web or mobile access? Call the Vidant Health Help Desk at 847-5111. For mobile access to Micromedex apps, obtain passwords by clicking here.

Mobile Resources Overview

N
Nurse Theorists: Portraits of Excellence

Nurse Theorists: Portraits of Excellence explores the life work and life stories of sixteen innovative women who are widely regarded as nursing's premiere scholars.Each program featuring a modern theorist includes video interviews in which the theorist discusses her life, the evolution of her work, and the impact of that work on nursing practice and education. These programs also contain a bibliography of the theorist's writings and a resource list highlighting helpful websites and organizations.

Requires QuickTime and Flash plugin.

Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest)

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source makes it easy to find reliable healthcare information. This database provides full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support the study of the many aspects of nursing or the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences.

Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive

Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Nearly all full text titles included in Nursing & Allied Health: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in CINAHL.

Nursing Education in Video

Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.

Nursing Skills (ClinicalKey)

This is an online skills and procedures reference system and is built using learning management system (LMS) functionality allowing nurse managers and educators to assign, track, and manage skills and test hospital staff. It includes supplementary material such as patient handouts that are indexed and tied to specific skills

P
ProQuest Search

Searches all available ProQuest databases.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from periodicals in multiple languages.

Click here for a guide to this database

R
RefWorks - Legacy Interface

RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool. RefWorks is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store, and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Must register to use. For off-campus access to Write-N-Cite, obtain login credentials by clicking here.

RefWorks - New Interface

RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool. RefWorks is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store, and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Click here for a guide to this resource

S
ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect provides access to the full-text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier. Botany is included.

Click here for a guide to this database

Scopus

Scopus is one of the world’s largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web resources. Included in the database are approximately 50 million records for resources from over 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Among Scopus’s features are tools to track, analyze, and visualize the impacts of research.

Scopus Document Download feature will not be supported on the current or future versions of Chrome. To keep using the Scopus Document Download Manager, please use Internet Explorer version 10 or higher, Google Chrome up to version 44, or Safari 4 or higher.

T
TRIP Database

Locate high quality, evidence based medical literature using this metasearch engine.

U
Ulrichsweb

Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

UpToDate

UpToDate is specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice and to do so quickly, easily, and at the point of care.

UpToDate is provided by Vidant Medical Center. Access is limited to ECU Division of Health Sciences on-campus use only. Problems with UpToDate access? Call the Vidant Health Help Desk at 847-5111.

Mobile Resources Overview

W
Wiley Online Library

Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of book and journal literature covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.